CarAudioForum.com


Reply
Old 08-03-2010, 05:05 PM   #1
redwrangler

Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 811
redwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond repute



OFC and CCA wire

I have always used OFC power wire, but recently I have been talking to some people that use CCA wire. They claim that electricity only travels over the surface of the individual mills of the wire and that is why CCA is the same as OFC.

I've always believed that OFC wire is the way to go. Is there any study or research that shows the difference in current carrying capacity between OFC and CCA wire?

Does electricity travel on the surface of the mills or does it also travel through the actual copper?
redwrangler is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Help Syrian Refugees Survive. Donate Now!
Or text REFUGEES to 50555 to give $10 to USA for UNHCR
Old 08-03-2010, 05:41 PM   #2
redwrangler

Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 811
redwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond repute



I just found this link that has some comparisons of CCA and OFC. I don't know how accurate it is, but based on the tables, CCA wire has 70% efficiency that OFC wire has.

http://www.ccawire.com/Copper-Clad-Aluminum-Wire.html
redwrangler is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-03-2010, 05:58 PM   #3
basicxj

Registered Spam Offender
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: north of the 49th
Posts: 13,983
basicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond repute



When comparing standard gauge copper wire products to those from manufacturers that offer CCA wire, you'll find the size of the CCA product is often increased compared to standard gauge so the run of aluminum wire has similar conductivity to a comparable length of pure copper.

Knu's CCA wire (for example) is larger and this dictates trimming some strands if you will be using distribution blocks and terminals intended for standard gauge copper power wires.
basicxj is online now   Reply With Quote

Old 08-03-2010, 06:47 PM   #4
redwrangler

Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 811
redwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond repute



Quote:
Originally Posted by basicxj View Post
When comparing standard gauge copper wire products to those from manufacturers that offer CCA wire, you'll find the size of the CCA product is often increased compared to standard gauge so the run of aluminum wire has similar conductivity to a comparable length of pure copper.

Knu's CCA wire (for example) is larger and this dictates trimming some strands if you will be using distribution blocks and terminals intended for standard gauge copper power wires.
I actually have noticed that because I have some pieces of 4 gauge (Knu)laying around of both CCA and OFC and the OFC wire seems noticeably smaller.
redwrangler is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-04-2010, 02:13 AM   #5
horsemanwill

Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,326
horsemanwill has a reputation beyond reputehorsemanwill has a reputation beyond reputehorsemanwill has a reputation beyond reputehorsemanwill has a reputation beyond reputehorsemanwill has a reputation beyond reputehorsemanwill has a reputation beyond reputehorsemanwill has a reputation beyond reputehorsemanwill has a reputation beyond reputehorsemanwill has a reputation beyond reputehorsemanwill has a reputation beyond reputehorsemanwill has a reputation beyond repute



http://caraudiomag.com/articles/copp...-wire-warnings
horsemanwill is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-04-2010, 03:20 AM   #6
Jimi77

Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 24,777
Jimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond repute



Copper gives you better SQ.
Jimi77 is online now   Reply With Quote

Old 08-04-2010, 07:09 PM   #7
N2Audio

Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Lawrence, KS USA
Posts: 1,357
N2Audio has a brilliant futureN2Audio has a brilliant futureN2Audio has a brilliant futureN2Audio has a brilliant futureN2Audio has a brilliant futureN2Audio has a brilliant futureN2Audio has a brilliant futureN2Audio has a brilliant futureN2Audio has a brilliant futureN2Audio has a brilliant futureN2Audio has a brilliant future



The thing about current only moving on the surface is a poor reference to skin effect. Skin effect only occurs at very high audio frequencies and beyond. Not an issue in power wire. Really not an issue in audio at all.

CCA vs OFC isn't nearly worth all the debate it gets IMO.
Al has about 40% less conductance than Cu, so if you mix the two together it's going to be better, but not as good as pure copper.

As long as there are clear specifications identifying the current capacity of it wire and you don't expect it to do more than that you're good to go.
N2Audio is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-11-2010, 03:38 AM   #8
AutoMediaPro

Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 28
AutoMediaPro is an unknown quantity at this point



If you have done the big 3 .. have a solid battery .. and GREAT grounds . . and you're not dropping voltage .. I wouldn't worry about it in a daily setup.

Now, if you are in a competition class Like DB Drag Street and Street Max where you are VERY limited on batteries .. I would spare no expense to get every ounce of juice.
AutoMediaPro is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-11-2010, 03:34 PM   #9
redwrangler

Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 811
redwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond reputeredwrangler has a reputation beyond repute



I have OFC wire but I ran into this "installer" who claims that CCA wire is just as good because of how the electricity runs over the surface area... I didn't believe him so I decided to do some research and I got some good info here as well as from some other folks.

The fact of the matter is, I'm only wondering because of that. I am not experiencing any voltage drop after I dropped in my HO alt.

No I'm not competing or looking to start. I just like a quality build
redwrangler is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-11-2010, 03:45 PM   #10
Mordrid1

Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,517
Mordrid1 has a reputation beyond reputeMordrid1 has a reputation beyond reputeMordrid1 has a reputation beyond reputeMordrid1 has a reputation beyond reputeMordrid1 has a reputation beyond reputeMordrid1 has a reputation beyond reputeMordrid1 has a reputation beyond reputeMordrid1 has a reputation beyond reputeMordrid1 has a reputation beyond reputeMordrid1 has a reputation beyond reputeMordrid1 has a reputation beyond repute



Quote:
Originally Posted by AutoMediaPro View Post
If you have done the big 3 .. have a solid battery .. and GREAT grounds . . and you're not dropping voltage .. I wouldn't worry about it in a daily setup.

Now, if you are in a competition class Like DB Drag Street and Street Max where you are VERY limited on batteries .. I would spare no expense to get every ounce of juice.



The cost benefit ratio is very small, unless you are talking about a high current draw.
Mordrid1 is online now   Reply With Quote

Old 08-11-2010, 03:58 PM   #11
only126db

Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Da Stikz
Posts: 11,216
only126db has a reputation beyond reputeonly126db has a reputation beyond reputeonly126db has a reputation beyond reputeonly126db has a reputation beyond reputeonly126db has a reputation beyond reputeonly126db has a reputation beyond reputeonly126db has a reputation beyond reputeonly126db has a reputation beyond reputeonly126db has a reputation beyond reputeonly126db has a reputation beyond reputeonly126db has a reputation beyond repute



Copper FTW
only126db is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:02 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright © 2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996 - 2011 by CarAudioForum.com - all rights reserved.