CarAudioForum.com


Reply
Old 01-11-2017, 05:55 PM   #16
basicxj

Registered Spam Offender
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: north of the 49th
Posts: 19,748
basicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond repute



Quote:
Originally Posted by Georgemk6 View Post
Thanks for all the hell so far I've gone for a jbl gt5 12".

When it comes to installing I will wire the back 2 speakers to the head unit and the front 2 speakers to channels 1 and 2.

When it comes to installing the sub shall I bridge channels 3 and 4 the have 400w of power and install the 275w sub to the bridges channels? Or have you guys got a better way. I'm kind of new to all this and just been reading up a lot so sorry if i don't make much sense.
You got the version with a single 4 ohm voice coil I hope- the GT5 12 as opposed to the GT5 12D.

The problem with InPhase is that they are one of those predatory brands that fudge their specs- they don't deliver what they claim. If you have the single 4 ohm version of that sub, bridge channels 3/4 and hope you have enough power.
basicxj is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-11-2017, 06:09 PM   #17
Georgemk6

Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 9
Georgemk6 is on a distinguished road



Quote:
Originally Posted by basicxj View Post
You got the version with a single 4 ohm voice coil I hope- the GT5 12 as opposed to the GT5 12D.

The problem with InPhase is that they are one of those predatory brands that fudge their specs- they don't deliver what they claim. If you have the single 4 ohm version of that sub, bridge channels 3/4 and hope you have enough power.
I haven't ordered it yet will be ordering tomorrow morning and yh il make sure it's svc so I can bridge the box of my amp says (4 ohm bridge @ 14.4v 400w x 2) so hopefully it is what it says it is.

Also it says 4 ohm @14.4v 150wx4 this is what my from 2 speakers will run.
Georgemk6 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2017, 12:20 AM   #18
basicxj

Registered Spam Offender
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: north of the 49th
Posts: 19,748
basicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond repute



Quote:
Originally Posted by Georgemk6 View Post
I haven't ordered it yet will be ordering tomorrow morning and yh il make sure it's svc so I can bridge the box of my amp says (4 ohm bridge @ 14.4v 400w x 2) so hopefully it is what it says it is.

Also it says 4 ohm @14.4v 150wx4 this is what my from 2 speakers will run.
That's what it says- if we can trust what they say you'd be good, but unfortunately that manufacturer likes to lie about specs. You may see enough power, or you may not...what they publish is grossly inflated for the express purpose of cashing in on customers who don't know any better.

Next time you go to buy audio equipment, stop by the forum first and ask your new friends here @ CAF about what brands you should avoid and we can steer you towards better gear .
basicxj is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2017, 06:12 AM   #19
Georgemk6

Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 9
Georgemk6 is on a distinguished road



Quote:
Originally Posted by basicxj View Post
That's what it says- if we can trust what they say you'd be good, but unfortunately that manufacturer likes to lie about specs. You may see enough power, or you may not...what they publish is grossly inflated for the express purpose of cashing in on customers who don't know any better.

Next time you go to buy audio equipment, stop by the forum first and ask your new friends here @ CAF about what brands you should avoid and we can steer you towards better gear .
Okay thanks everyone for your help, il update you all when it's up and running.
Georgemk6 is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:08 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright © 2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996 - 2011 by CarAudioForum.com - all rights reserved.