CarAudioForum.com

Go Back   CarAudioForum.com > Discussion Forums > Car Audio: Installation Help

Reply
Old 01-05-2004, 02:38 PM   #1
quietflip2

Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1
quietflip2 is on a distinguished road



factory amp bypass in 96 mustang

i'm putting in an aftermarket reciever and wanted to know how to bypass the fatcory amp. i've got the wiring it with one piece for power stuff and the other for speaker connections. How do i bypass the amp?
I also had a problem with the front trim piece that goes around the a/c knobs and the radio. i didn't have any U keys so i tried to take the front part out to take out the radio, i got the top part out but don't know how to get the bottom part off, it feels like the piece might crack. if anybody has any advice please respond. thanks
quietflip2 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Help Syrian Refugees Survive. Donate Now!
Or text REFUGEES to 50555 to give $10 to USA for UNHCR
Old 01-06-2004, 06:50 PM   #2
theprofessional

Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northern Cali
Posts: 20
theprofessional is on a distinguished road



If it is the mach 500 you have a small amp up front under the head unit and two amps in the trunk. All will have to be rewired but you wont have to go to the speakers directly up front just in the rear. As for your other problem I would go out and get a set of the proper keys.
theprofessional is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-07-2004, 11:49 AM   #3
philby_5

gp on 18" lorenzos
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: st. marys, pa
Posts: 558
philby_5 is on a distinguished road



ive found that a bent coat hanger works ok for taking ford radios out. not as easy as the proper keys, but it works
philby_5 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-07-2004, 12:46 PM   #4
theprofessional

Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northern Cali
Posts: 20
theprofessional is on a distinguished road



It will work but I wouldn't recomend it if you've never taken the stereo out before the right way. If you push them in too far you can ruin the locking mechanism and then never get it out.
theprofessional is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-09-2004, 12:01 PM   #5
Perm Dog

Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 2
Perm Dog is on a distinguished road



I just sold my 97 gt and had the same problem I went down to mike ryans a nearby audio shop and bout a wiring harness that hooks right into the stock one. then I hooked my new head unit up to that. worked like a charm the wiring was $10. I went to three other place before them and was told that I would have to rewire everything, dont bye that. As far as taking off your front panel if you take off the piece down around your shifter you will find two bolts at the bottom of the trim that goes around the air vent and all the rest
Perm Dog is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:29 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright © 2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996 - 2011 by CarAudioForum.com - all rights reserved.