CarAudioForum.com

Go Back   CarAudioForum.com > Discussion Forums > Car Audio: General

Reply
Old 02-22-2004, 08:09 AM   #1
fdman_1

Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 37
fdman_1 is on a distinguished road



Bose In 99 pontiac Grand Prix

I have a 99 grand prix with the bose 8 speaker system with the bose amp I was wondering if there is anything you have to do to hook a head unit to it? Because I hooked mine up and I have power to everything but no sound. Anybody know anything about this. Thanks
fdman_1 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Help Syrian Refugees Survive. Donate Now!
Or text REFUGEES to 50555 to give $10 to USA for UNHCR
Old 02-22-2004, 08:19 AM   #2
sr20dem0n

Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 5,742
sr20dem0n has a reputation beyond reputesr20dem0n has a reputation beyond reputesr20dem0n has a reputation beyond reputesr20dem0n has a reputation beyond reputesr20dem0n has a reputation beyond reputesr20dem0n has a reputation beyond reputesr20dem0n has a reputation beyond reputesr20dem0n has a reputation beyond reputesr20dem0n has a reputation beyond reputesr20dem0n has a reputation beyond reputesr20dem0n has a reputation beyond repute



With a Bose system, it's all or nothing pretty much. If you want to change any part of it, you have to change all of it.
sr20dem0n is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-22-2004, 08:22 AM   #3
fdman_1

Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 37
fdman_1 is on a distinguished road



so pretty much i got to get the speakers also and remove it all or run new wires to all the speakers.
fdman_1 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-22-2004, 08:24 AM   #4
sr20dem0n

Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 5,742
sr20dem0n has a reputation beyond reputesr20dem0n has a reputation beyond reputesr20dem0n has a reputation beyond reputesr20dem0n has a reputation beyond reputesr20dem0n has a reputation beyond reputesr20dem0n has a reputation beyond reputesr20dem0n has a reputation beyond reputesr20dem0n has a reputation beyond reputesr20dem0n has a reputation beyond reputesr20dem0n has a reputation beyond reputesr20dem0n has a reputation beyond repute



You have to get all new speakers, AND run your own speaker wire from the headunit to all 4.
sr20dem0n is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-22-2004, 08:25 AM   #5
fdman_1

Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 37
fdman_1 is on a distinguished road



that sucks
fdman_1 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-22-2004, 02:22 PM   #6
Subliminal

Dynamite witha laser beam
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,080
Subliminal will become famous soon enough



www.clubgp.com car audio and electronics section

Search is your friend!

d
Subliminal is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-22-2004, 02:24 PM   #7
Need_a_147

Not gonna happen
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 824
Need_a_147 will become famous soon enough



or u can run some speaker wire to your amp, and bypass the amp.
Need_a_147 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-22-2004, 04:29 PM   #8
Vestax05pro

Associates
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USUC World Champion - Stock System Class, Super Street Division Special Edition Bose 26 piece speaker system with enhanced ported tweeters. 89.2 db Legal, 89.6 db Outlaw
Posts: 9,787
Vestax05pro has a reputation beyond reputeVestax05pro has a reputation beyond reputeVestax05pro has a reputation beyond reputeVestax05pro has a reputation beyond reputeVestax05pro has a reputation beyond reputeVestax05pro has a reputation beyond reputeVestax05pro has a reputation beyond reputeVestax05pro has a reputation beyond reputeVestax05pro has a reputation beyond reputeVestax05pro has a reputation beyond reputeVestax05pro has a reputation beyond repute



Quote:
Originally posted by Need_a_147
or u can run some speaker wire to your amp, and bypass the amp.
Follow this advice ^^, this is what's done most of the time.
Vestax05pro is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-22-2004, 04:42 PM   #9
Parasitic_Whim

Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Freeport, IL
Posts: 1,955
Parasitic_Whim is a name known to allParasitic_Whim is a name known to allParasitic_Whim is a name known to allParasitic_Whim is a name known to allParasitic_Whim is a name known to allParasitic_Whim is a name known to all



I hate Bose, they always make everything too difficult. What is the point of making a superior sounding radio when the signal coming into it is sub-par?

I think Bose is WAY over-rated

"No highs, no lows: must be Bose"
Parasitic_Whim is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-22-2004, 05:09 PM   #10
sr20dem0n

Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 5,742
sr20dem0n has a reputation beyond reputesr20dem0n has a reputation beyond reputesr20dem0n has a reputation beyond reputesr20dem0n has a reputation beyond reputesr20dem0n has a reputation beyond reputesr20dem0n has a reputation beyond reputesr20dem0n has a reputation beyond reputesr20dem0n has a reputation beyond reputesr20dem0n has a reputation beyond reputesr20dem0n has a reputation beyond reputesr20dem0n has a reputation beyond repute



Quote:
Originally posted by Parasitic_Whim
What is the point of making a superior sounding radio when the signal coming into it is sub-par?
Bose?
superior?
superior to what, a lump of ****?

sr20dem0n is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-22-2004, 07:10 PM   #11
Parasitic_Whim

Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Freeport, IL
Posts: 1,955
Parasitic_Whim is a name known to allParasitic_Whim is a name known to allParasitic_Whim is a name known to allParasitic_Whim is a name known to allParasitic_Whim is a name known to allParasitic_Whim is a name known to all



Quote:
Originally posted by sr20dem0n
Bose?
superior?
superior to what, a lump of ****?

I agree completely, although, I think I'd find the sound of **** falling out of a cows *** more appealing, at least to the ear.
Parasitic_Whim is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-23-2004, 09:02 AM   #12
fdman_1

Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 37
fdman_1 is on a distinguished road



thanks for the help
fdman_1 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-23-2004, 02:40 PM   #13
streetrace_r

Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: hamilton ontario canada
Posts: 3,773
streetrace_r has much to be proud ofstreetrace_r has much to be proud ofstreetrace_r has much to be proud ofstreetrace_r has much to be proud ofstreetrace_r has much to be proud ofstreetrace_r has much to be proud ofstreetrace_r has much to be proud ofstreetrace_r has much to be proud ofstreetrace_r has much to be proud of



be careful with newer GM cars

if it doesnt; have a remote(ignition) at the radio, then the radi has to be moved elsewhere in the car.....

and you have to wire a seperate ignition

but i'm not sure when GM started to use that bus line....
streetrace_r is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-23-2004, 02:55 PM   #14
philby_5

gp on 18" lorenzos
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: st. marys, pa
Posts: 558
philby_5 is on a distinguished road



i have the same car. clubgp.com is definately a great source of info as stated above. but i also agree with everyone here that yiou should upgrade everything. it is possible to make your idea work but it is alot of wasted time when you want to upgrade later anyway. id just leave it stock till you can get some new speakers to go w/the HU
philby_5 is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:40 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright © 2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996 - 2011 by CarAudioForum.com - all rights reserved.