CarAudioForum.com

Go Back   CarAudioForum.com > Discussion Forums > Car Audio: General

Reply
Old 04-23-2004, 04:31 PM   #1
Audiobahn_VR4

0|\|」・ 1200 \/\/477$
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 54
Audiobahn_VR4 is on a distinguished road



What ga. speaker wire for 2000 Watts RMS?

I'm getting a 2000 watt sub and amp so my question is what ga. speaker wire should I use. I asked some people and they said 10 or 12 ga. would be fine. What do you guys think?
Audiobahn_VR4 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Help Syrian Refugees Survive. Donate Now!
Or text REFUGEES to 50555 to give $10 to USA for UNHCR
Old 04-23-2004, 04:34 PM   #2
Higgles

1967cutlass
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: スポケーン
Posts: 1,096
Higgles is infamous around these parts



i'd use 1/0 personally.
Higgles is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-23-2004, 04:44 PM   #3
MY_ROLLA

Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Avondale, AZ
Posts: 140
MY_ROLLA is on a distinguished road



It's speaker wire, NOT power wire that is being asked...

8 Gauge should be sufficient.
MY_ROLLA is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-23-2004, 05:00 PM   #4
Audiobahn_VR4

0|\|」・ 1200 \/\/477$
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 54
Audiobahn_VR4 is on a distinguished road



Do you know where I can buy some 8 ga. speaker wire, or could I just use power wire?
Audiobahn_VR4 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-23-2004, 05:17 PM   #5
voided

Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Barrie
Posts: 1,447
voided will become famous soon enough



just use power wire try and use some nicer quality stuff though not the walmart crap that sheds all over the place and leaves u with **** connecting all sorts of crazy power loops :P that can get messy and dangerous to ur equipment
voided is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2004, 02:46 AM   #6
delvryboy

Big Boyz use Big Ampz
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: CAF numbs my brain
Posts: 7,506
delvryboy is a splendid one to beholddelvryboy is a splendid one to beholddelvryboy is a splendid one to beholddelvryboy is a splendid one to beholddelvryboy is a splendid one to beholddelvryboy is a splendid one to beholddelvryboy is a splendid one to beholddelvryboy is a splendid one to behold



honestly, unless you are running the subs in canada and the amp in new york, there isn't a need for anything over 12awg
delvryboy is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2004, 02:47 AM   #7
#1SomeGuy

Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: ?
Posts: 7,737
#1SomeGuy has a reputation beyond repute#1SomeGuy has a reputation beyond repute#1SomeGuy has a reputation beyond repute#1SomeGuy has a reputation beyond repute#1SomeGuy has a reputation beyond repute#1SomeGuy has a reputation beyond repute#1SomeGuy has a reputation beyond repute#1SomeGuy has a reputation beyond repute#1SomeGuy has a reputation beyond repute#1SomeGuy has a reputation beyond repute#1SomeGuy has a reputation beyond repute



Quote:
Originally Posted by delvryboy
honestly, unless you are running the subs in canada and the amp in new york, there isn't a need for anything over 12awg
Correct...12 gauge wire will carry that amount of current a LOT further then you need to go. Just use 12 gauge, and if you're really paranoid use 10 gauge but anything over 12 is just gravy.
#1SomeGuy is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2004, 04:27 AM   #8
fugyaself

Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 15,101
fugyaself has a reputation beyond reputefugyaself has a reputation beyond reputefugyaself has a reputation beyond reputefugyaself has a reputation beyond reputefugyaself has a reputation beyond reputefugyaself has a reputation beyond reputefugyaself has a reputation beyond reputefugyaself has a reputation beyond reputefugyaself has a reputation beyond reputefugyaself has a reputation beyond reputefugyaself has a reputation beyond repute



Ill be using 10awg power wire for mine. Only because I ran out of 12awg though and I already have 100ft of it sitting around.
fugyaself is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-26-2004, 03:59 AM   #9
Audiobahn_VR4

0|\|」・ 1200 \/\/477$
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 54
Audiobahn_VR4 is on a distinguished road



I think I'll go with 10 gauge just to be safe. Does anyone know where I can get some 10 ga. speaker wire? I know it's not easy to find 10 ga. speaker wire, I know none of the shops around where I live carry any. Or will I have to use 10 ga. power wire?
Audiobahn_VR4 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-26-2004, 06:18 AM   #10
KGUNC

Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: NC
Posts: 1,210
KGUNC is on a distinguished road



Power wire and speaker wire are the same thing. Wire is wire.
KGUNC is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-26-2004, 06:20 AM   #11
delvryboy

Big Boyz use Big Ampz
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: CAF numbs my brain
Posts: 7,506
delvryboy is a splendid one to beholddelvryboy is a splendid one to beholddelvryboy is a splendid one to beholddelvryboy is a splendid one to beholddelvryboy is a splendid one to beholddelvryboy is a splendid one to beholddelvryboy is a splendid one to beholddelvryboy is a splendid one to behold



Quote:
Originally Posted by Audiobahn_VR4
I think I'll go with 10 gauge just to be safe. Does anyone know where I can get some 10 ga. speaker wire? I know it's not easy to find 10 ga. speaker wire, I know none of the shops around where I live carry any. Or will I have to use 10 ga. power wire?
save some money and buy 12awg

KennyG has some cool blue 12awg for $0.35 a foot in the for sale section
delvryboy is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-26-2004, 06:44 AM   #12
Audiobahn_VR4

0|\|」・ 1200 \/\/477$
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 54
Audiobahn_VR4 is on a distinguished road



Well, I know power and speaker wire are the same kinds of wire, but speaker wire usually has the negative and positive wires twisted together so the signal quality is better. So thats what I was looking for.
Audiobahn_VR4 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-26-2004, 06:55 AM   #13
b0b

Mazda 6, ZooM ZooM
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Naples/Orlando, FL
Posts: 556
b0b is a name known to allb0b is a name known to allb0b is a name known to allb0b is a name known to allb0b is a name known to allb0b is a name known to all



umm, if you think that twisting the wires around each other will give you much better sound quality, why dont you just take 2 pieces of power wires and twist them up lol?
b0b is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-26-2004, 06:56 AM   #14
JBLFury

Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 74
JBLFury is on a distinguished road



knukonceptz.com
JBLFury is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-26-2004, 07:09 AM   #15
delvryboy

Big Boyz use Big Ampz
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: CAF numbs my brain
Posts: 7,506
delvryboy is a splendid one to beholddelvryboy is a splendid one to beholddelvryboy is a splendid one to beholddelvryboy is a splendid one to beholddelvryboy is a splendid one to beholddelvryboy is a splendid one to beholddelvryboy is a splendid one to beholddelvryboy is a splendid one to behold



Quote:
Originally Posted by Audiobahn_VR4
Well, I know power and speaker wire are the same kinds of wire, but speaker wire usually has the negative and positive wires twisted together so the signal quality is better. So thats what I was looking for.
actually, the majority of speaker wires are not twisted at all
delvryboy is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:08 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright © 2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996 - 2011 by CarAudioForum.com - all rights reserved.