CarAudioForum.com

Old 11-15-2011, 01:18 AM   #1
kebas239

kebas239 is on a distinguished road

Hissing (I think?) noise

Hi all! I was wondering if any of you guys may be able to help me with a minor (albeit very annoying) problem that I have with a recent car stereo installation.

I installed an amp for my regular speakers - Alpine MRV-F540 and an amp for my two subs - Sony Xplod XM-502Z. I am a n00b installer, but I was able to get it to work in my Mazda3 w/ a BOSE system. I did it by creating an adapter to convert the supplied BOSE plug into RCA outputs and speaker inputs. I kept the rest of the wiring in the car stock, and upgraded my regular speakers to four Alpine SPR-68's and then used two Sony Xplod subs that I had leftover from an old installation for my bass.

I set everything up and it sounds great, except one thing - There is this constant hissing noise in the background - it is not overly annoying, but it is very intrusive and hurts the overall sound quality of my system.

By fiddling with the settings, I have figured out a few things about the source of this noise:

1) It does not appear to be engine related since when I turn the car on and drive it has no effect on the problem. As a result, I suspect it may have something to do with the stock speaker wiring, or some other type of RCA interference.

2) It is directly linked to the gain level on my Alpine amp, as when it is turned all the way down the noise goes away. I can even put it 1/4 up with only a minor, but tolerable version of the noise.

3) When I apply the low pass filter on the Alpine amp to the regular speakers, the noise completely goes away regardless of how high the gain is. Of course I cannot use this setting as it causes the regular speakers to only play lower frequency sound.