CarAudioForum.com

Go Back   CarAudioForum.com > Discussion Forums > Car Audio: General

Old 03-14-2012, 02:33 AM   #1
jmardant

jmardant is on a distinguished road

need help with dimming lights

hi guys newbie here, i currently have 2 kicker L7 12s powered by a zx1500.1 mono block amp wired @ 2ohms, running infinity components powered by a zx350.4, optima red top for starting battery and a Soundstream SCELL-1000 in the back for power, ive ran the Big 3 (0g), 250amp alternator, and my headlights are still dimming and my voltage drops from high 14s to mid 13s when the subs hit, and help would be greatly appreciated, ty
jmardant is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Help Syrian Refugees Survive. Donate Now!
Or text REFUGEES to 50555 to give $10 to USA for UNHCR
Old 03-14-2012, 10:57 PM   #2
jmardant

really? no comments?

Old 03-14-2012, 11:09 PM   #3
9801joseph

9801joseph is a splendid one to behold9801joseph is a splendid one to behold9801joseph is a splendid one to behold9801joseph is a splendid one to behold9801joseph is a splendid one to behold9801joseph is a splendid one to behold9801joseph is a splendid one to behold

Thats odd..

It seems like you should have plenty of power on hand with the 250 amp alternator. Check/redo all of your grounds, going so far as to brush wheel the metal down to shiny bright chassis steel. With the extra the battery in the trunk, Im not sure why youre getting dimming. Your amps should be drawing their voltage from the aux battery, which should negate any voltage drop.

Do you own or have access to a digi multimeter?
How new is your alternator?
Are you willing to get a more efficient amp?
9801joseph is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-14-2012, 11:52 PM   #4
jmardant

all ground locations were sanded to bright shinny metal with 80g sandpaper, all connectors on ground wires were soldered after crimping, alternator is 3-4 weeks old. a more efficiant amp? i want 1500w on my subs they sound bad with less power