CarAudioForum.com

Go Back   CarAudioForum.com > Discussion Forums > Car Audio: General

Old 10-31-2001, 10:27 PM   #1
magicman

magicman is on a distinguished road

JL Audio Subs with PPI 2360 Amp

Is this a good idea to get good sound quality ?
I'm not too bothered about SPL levels, but I'd like good quality and clarity in the sound they produce. I asked a shop guy and this is what he recommended
magicman is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Help Syrian Refugees Survive. Donate Now!
Or text REFUGEES to 50555 to give $10 to USA for UNHCR
Old 10-31-2001, 11:23 PM   #2
crrrolla

crrrolla is on a distinguished road

i used to have 2 10W0's off a ppi2360 and it pounded pretty hard, sounded good too. Nothing wrong with that setup.
crrrolla is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-31-2001, 11:37 PM   #3
magicman

thanks very much, any ideas as to what size a box should be for them ? I'd like to have them in two seperate boxes, one each side of the boot...

I'm pretty new to all this and would like to have a go at installing them myself.

Old 11-01-2001, 12:38 AM   #4
benasmith

Aura, Adire, Peerless

benasmith is a jewel in the roughbenasmith is a jewel in the roughbenasmith is a jewel in the rough

Assuming you get 2 12W0s, and you have that 2360 amp, with about 180W for each speaker, I would recommend puting them in around 1.2-1.3 cubic feet, sealed.

You can find enclosure specifications here, for various sealed and ported boxes for various alignments: http://www.jlaudio.com/subwoofers/12w0.html
benasmith is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-01-2001, 01:38 PM   #5
Kidd636

Kidd636 is on a distinguished road

hey how about 2 12W0s sharing a single sealed box? what's should be the box volume? I'm after SQ, so my friend says I should go for 3.5 cu. ft... is he right?
Kidd636 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-01-2001, 02:15 PM   #6
magicman

Quote:
Originally posted by benasmith