CarAudioForum.com


Reply
Old 12-23-2001, 05:12 AM   #1
hollaback6

Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 181
hollaback6 will become famous soon enough



dd 3512 box size?????

I know this question has probably been asked a million times but would a dd3512 have good sq and spl in a 1.0 sealed box? If not what size box does it need sealed and ported?
hollaback6 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Help Syrian Refugees Survive. Donate Now!
Or text REFUGEES to 50555 to give $10 to USA for UNHCR
Old 12-23-2001, 05:41 PM   #2
alaska

Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 3,805
alaska is infamous around these parts



check their website...

www.ddaudio.com
alaska is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-24-2001, 02:20 AM   #3
hollaback6

Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 181
hollaback6 will become famous soon enough



somebody told me that they work in any box size just about because there basket is so strong. Is this true?
hollaback6 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-24-2001, 06:38 AM   #4
alaska

Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 3,805
alaska is infamous around these parts



you can put any sub in any size box and it will work...might sound like total crap but it will work

basket strength has no bearing on how a sub performs in any size box. now, if it's too weak and the pressure in the box and the stress from the sub cause it to break that can be a bad thing...but basket alone has no audible bearing on output.

a 12 will usually work just fine in a 1 cubic foot sealed box...regardless of manufacturer. call DD and ask them...they're nice people just don't ask em for a tracking number heheh or when your subs will ship. seriously...they are a cool company tho

i love my 3515's
alaska is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-24-2001, 07:42 AM   #5
Warbleed

Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 11,900
Warbleed has a reputation beyond reputeWarbleed has a reputation beyond reputeWarbleed has a reputation beyond reputeWarbleed has a reputation beyond reputeWarbleed has a reputation beyond reputeWarbleed has a reputation beyond reputeWarbleed has a reputation beyond reputeWarbleed has a reputation beyond reputeWarbleed has a reputation beyond reputeWarbleed has a reputation beyond reputeWarbleed has a reputation beyond repute



Quote:
Originally posted by alaska
you can put any sub in any size box and it will work...might sound like total crap but it will work

basket strength has no bearing on how a sub performs in any size box. now, if it's too weak and the pressure in the box and the stress from the sub cause it to break that can be a bad thing...but basket alone has no audible bearing on output.

a 12 will usually work just fine in a 1 cubic foot sealed box...regardless of manufacturer. call DD and ask them...they're nice people just don't ask em for a tracking number heheh or when your subs will ship. seriously...they are a cool company tho

i love my 3515's
I would expect the 3512 to be HORRIFICLY boomy in that small of a box. I'd say 1.5 cubic feet minimum on that sucker, larger if you can manage.
__________________
The origin of all science is the desire to know causes, and the origin of all false science and imposture is the desire to accept false causes rather than none; or, which is the same thing, in the unwillingness to acknowledge our own ignorance.
- William Hazlitt
Warbleed is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-24-2001, 05:37 PM   #6
hollaback6

Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 181
hollaback6 will become famous soon enough



u think i would be better off running one in a ported box with about 1000 watts goin to it? I don't have much space at all. The most i could go is like 2.0 maybe a little more.
hollaback6 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-24-2001, 06:05 PM   #7
alaska

Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 3,805
alaska is infamous around these parts



first...what is your objective with this sub? to just get loud? if so, definitely port it...you prob won't care about boominess too much. it should handle the 1000W just fine..i'm running my 15's off of an a7hc (about 500-600W to each sub) and i they're begging for more power

they list some box specs for ported enclosures on their site...go check em out
alaska is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-24-2001, 06:18 PM   #8
hollaback6

Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 181
hollaback6 will become famous soon enough



my objectvie is spl. I want to hit 145's with one sub. I don't know if it's possible but i know i have a small cab. Thanks for the help. I've never made a ported box before so that kind of scares me.
hollaback6 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-24-2001, 10:06 PM   #9
Warbleed

Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 11,900
Warbleed has a reputation beyond reputeWarbleed has a reputation beyond reputeWarbleed has a reputation beyond reputeWarbleed has a reputation beyond reputeWarbleed has a reputation beyond reputeWarbleed has a reputation beyond reputeWarbleed has a reputation beyond reputeWarbleed has a reputation beyond reputeWarbleed has a reputation beyond reputeWarbleed has a reputation beyond reputeWarbleed has a reputation beyond repute



Quote:
Originally posted by hollaback6
my objectvie is spl. I want to hit 145's with one sub. I don't know if it's possible but i know i have a small cab. Thanks for the help. I've never made a ported box before so that kind of scares me.
If SQ isn't a concern, definitely go ported. 145db is possible, if you do it right.
__________________
The origin of all science is the desire to know causes, and the origin of all false science and imposture is the desire to accept false causes rather than none; or, which is the same thing, in the unwillingness to acknowledge our own ignorance.
- William Hazlitt
Warbleed is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:49 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright © 2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996 - 2011 by CarAudioForum.com - all rights reserved.